Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Soul Calibur II - Money Pit stage re-design

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
mistermojo polycounter lvl 6
Final Update:

1_zpsacbea73d.jpg?t=1354449761

So it turns out I've had a Polycount account for a long time but I haven't really posted anything :\ I'm hoping that all the talent on this website will help me develop my own skills and I'd be grateful for any feedback :) I'm primarily hoping to be a concept artist but if you want to see some other 3D stuff I've done I have a section for it on my DeviantArt account. I also have quite a bit of digital painting on there if anyone is interested.

Anyway, onto the project at hand:

I'm currently a final year university student and I have been given the task of re-designing a stage from a fighting game. This re-design must have a realistic art style and have significant design changes, whilst still being recognisable.

I'll try and use a modular workflow as I intend to import this into UDK; I will be using 3DS Max and ZBrush to model :)

To my shame I don't really play fighting games, but I have settled on the Money Pit - Top Tier stage as it appears in Soul Calibur II:

Money_Pit_Top_Tier.jpg?t=1348683108

I plan on re-creating this location hundreds of years after the events of SC2, where the area is decayed/damaged and overgrown.