Home General Discussion

Art Institute fires animation teacher who won't pimp their useless e-books

Replies

• almighty_gir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    almighty_gir ngon master
    my art skills were learned and earned the hard way... by making mistakes, and getting my ass chewed off via harsh critique here.

my progress was directly proportional to how deluded i was... there was a time when i honestly thought i was great, and that posting here was just something i did to show off. it's only when i started thinking "you know what? i'm actually not that good" that i started learning.

it had nothing to do with college, or university... heck, i don't even have an art GCSE (basic qualification from senior school here in england). i was ungraded in art!

but if someone were to tell me "if you throw in nearly 20 grand and 3 years of hard work, you'll be amazing", i'm sorry but i've saved myself 20 grand and still done the same amount of work... if not more, sure i'm not amazing yet but i'm hoping to get there some day.

all that aside, you still didn't accurately retort my point...
  • reverendK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    reverendK polycounter lvl 7
    It's great that we work in an industry where hard work can get you ready for a job without any college.
    Some people function better in a school environment with somebody to give them assignments and deadlines. that's just fine.
    Myself - i went to school because i desperately needed my life to switch directions and had not been able to cause the change myself. It did the trick but i wish i had done more research and found a cheaper route. hindsight is 20/20, though.
  • Lazerus Reborn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lazerus Reborn polycounter lvl 8
    Kwramm wrote: »
    expiring books - anyone ever heard of anything more stupid?

It's time's like this, that I lose a little faith in humanity...