Home Unreal Engine

Lights

Esselle
polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Esselle polycounter lvl 10
Hi all, this is my first post in polycount forum! I'm a newbie in udk and in 3d/2d art, so I have a bit of questions...

Is lightmass useful? I think light points are the best to have a better atmosphere of the scene... maybe lightmass is used to enlighten big maps such as cities' exteriors?

How instancing meshes exactly works? If I have 400 meshes instanced with 400 tris, i have a scene with 400 tris, or 400*400tris? (I think the first but i'm not sure :O)

How much AO influence final render?

Thanks for the help!

Replies

• passerby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby polycounter lvl 12
    you should use lightmass, it pre-calculates lighting and bakes it into lightmaps.

400*400tris, instancing, isn't reducing the tris on screen, what instancing is doing is saving you memory. since with 400 instances of the same mesh, the mesh olny needs to be loaded into memory once not 400 times.

Amount of AO depends on the look your trying to achive and are you talking about the full scene AO as a post processing effect? or are you talking about AO that you baked into your texture maps?
  • Esselle
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby wrote: »
    you should use lightmass, it pre-calculates lighting and bakes it into lightmaps.
    So the shadowing and lighitning in real time is quicker?
    400*400tris, instancing, isn't reducing the tris on screen, what instancing is doing is saving you memory. since with 400 instances of the same mesh, the mesh olny needs to be loaded into memory once not 400 times.
    Great! Thanks
    Amount of AO depends on the look your trying to achive and are you talking about the full scene AO as a post processing effect? or are you talking about AO that you baked into your texture maps?
    I'm talking about the baked AO

Now I noticed another problem...
    2i704d3.png