Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio - Clean up or not

Hi guys,

My portfolio is cluttered with old work and WIPs (about 80% of it) which don't really reflect my current abilities in any way. But still, I'm not sure if I have to delete them or leave them be. I personally like to keep just a few but high quality ones and let go of the rest, but the other me says it doesn't matter what I want, most of it probably looks good to the viewers and I should keep them. I need more eyes on it so I can make the right decision.

https://www.artstation.com/artist/artbyalireza

Thanks in advance.

Replies

• Beard3D Bandit
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Beard3D Bandit polycounter lvl 7
    Your stuff is legit by the way, and I'm a bit of a noob compared. BUT you could:

since you don't have breakdowns of the scenes, it could simply be a case of packing some themes together into a single ''project'' in artstation.

- self contain the landscapes into one project in artstation
    - pick 1 or 2 of your fave grass studies and keep them seperate or pack them all into  on project
    - self contain the lava and mountain rocks into one project
    - you could pack the Moon and Mars into one project too
    - self contain your materials

and just delete atleast 1 in each project that lacks the most for you. I feel that I've just told you water is wet though :/ sorry haha

I really love:

- the desert study + game-ready vegetation. 

something I would LOVE to see you do is a completely alien landscape. just because I've followed you for so long.

Do you have a personal blog or website?
  • Chidambhar_Swaroop
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Chidambhar_Swaroop polycounter lvl 2
    Omg ur works r awesome... Comparing myself to u, I am way back, hahaha...
  • Apocrs1980
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Apocrs1980 polycounter lvl 4
    I'm no expert in the matter but just about every interview with a potential employer has said less is more.