Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

simple old sword

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Xazas polycounter lvl 7
Instead of starting another enviroment that I will never finish I decided to work on smaller projects for now with the goal of actually finishing them. I want to get more experience to get better at something with every piece.

So here is my first sword that I made and my first try at PBR.
bj78.png

1wy4.png

Critique is highly appreciated, I need it.

I liked working on It and I plan on making more medieval weapons.

Replies

• atomicguppy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I am not sold that it is a real sword. It looks like the hand guard, handle, and pommel are all made of wood. Now, I am no expert, but I don't think that is how swords were historically made. I think those parts were frequently made of metal and the handle was wrapped in leather or hide or something. You might want to go back in and try to make those textures look more "metal-y".

Also, if the sword was used in combat, then I would expect to see some scratches and nicks where it hit other hard mettle bits, like armor and shields.

The model seems pretty good tho, it would be nice to see a wire frame. Keep up the good work man!
  • Erafic
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Erafic polycounter lvl 10
    I agree with atomicguppy on showing us a wireframe, perhaps showing us the texture map as well.

To me the things that popped right away were the grip and the pommel. The leather of the grip one can see you've put in some extra loops to make those ridges, yet they dont get any love from the texture that just lays flat on top of them. Make them more torn, a slightly other hue or anything to make sure they're seen, otherwise they might not be worth the polys. Second, the normal on the pommel looks like its rusted and been drawn along something rough, quite opposite the smooth blade. It'd been better if the details on it actually followed the shape. [Example]