Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[wip] The Acid Container Prop

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
JamieRIOT polycounter lvl 6
Hi everyone,

I am a self-confessed Polycount ninja, having been looking at (and occasionally commenting on) other peoples artwork. I thought it was time to put some of my mini projects on here to receive some much-needed critique, as solely posting on my course forum and getting comments from the same few people each time doesn't cut it.
Here is an acid container prop I'm currently working on. Please note a couple of things:
- I am a complete UDK noob, so I can't do a great deal in the engine yet
- The textures are very much wip/placeholders/slapped on. (The diffuse has been updated, so doesn't fully correspond to the UDK screenshots).
- The model in UDK (Image 3) does have a normal map on, but that normal map doesn't contain texture details like rust etc. just yet.
- I realise I wasted too many polys in the pipes, so that won't happen on my future models.
I want to get your thought on the model so far, but in particular, I'm looking for some help/advice/answers on:
- Have I wasted a lot of UV space?
- Am I getting a good enough texture quality (1024*) for a prop of this size (2m tall) and is it worth using a higher res texture i.e.: 2048* for the purpose of a portfolio render?

wip1-6.png

HighPoly_Render_01-1.png

Polycount_01.png

MAT_AcidContainer_Diff-2.png

Thanks in advance, I'm looking forward to any feedback and help. :)

Replies

• North
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    North polycounter lvl 7
    I think you should dedicate more polys to the roundness of your large cylinder shape.