Home General Discussion

Salary of a 3d artist?

I want to go to school to become a 3d artist, and I really do have a passion to become one (prop/environmental to be specific) but I was wondering what kind of money you'd make as one. I'm not going to let a salary necessarily affect my decision of whether I want to do this for a living or not, but I'm just curious.

What kind of money do you make when you start out vs when you are doing it for a long time?

Thanks!

Replies

• aesir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aesir polycounter lvl 18
    25k to 200k depending on lots of stuff.
  • low odor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    low odor polycounter lvl 17
    lots of "depends" in there............... some google brought this up

http://www.animationarena.com/video-game-salary.html
  • arshlevon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    arshlevon polycounter lvl 18
    a billion dollars
  • Matroskin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Matroskin polycounter lvl 11
    subscribe to gamedeveloper magazine - they do yearly survey of all agmedev related jobs, art included. Also maybe they have that for free... dunno, u can check on google for their surveys.
  • Mrskullface
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    check out glassdoor.com
  • YBourykina
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    YBourykina RIOT Games
    hope this works:
    http://gamedeveloper.texterity.com/gamedeveloper/fall2011cg#pg25

it really depends on the level of the artist, the location, the studio, and other factors, but i think you'll get a decent gist from the survey :)
  • FractaL
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I can't really find any solid information on this. I came here to ask since a lot of you actually have jobs in this industry and I thought it'd be a great place to inquire about it.

What exactly is the "official" job title for a 3d modeler/artist/sculptor/texture artist?

Let me define some variables so that I can get a good answer: