Home Technical Talk

What do you think about using base mesh, tools, and Addons?

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Valcroz polycounter lvl 4

Hi, (not English native).
I am currently studying Video Game Design, during several of the class projects I use different base mesh or programs to speed up my work in 3D modeling, but I want to know what people think, I have read very different comments on the subject, some say it is valid , Since speeding up your work is the most important thing in the industry. Others say using these programs will discredit you as an artist.

In summary:
- Would you recommend using programs and/or add-ons for 3D modeling?

-Do You disapprove their use in any way?

PS:
-I leave samples of my works, listing the programs and extras that I use during their development.

-Recently started to work with Zbrush, and I came across this Addon. I found it awesome. I'm planning to buy it. 
 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GWO4nk6Fo-w

Modified base mesh made with Make Human, and rework on Blender:

Final results:

Base Mesh bought in gumroad.com for 1 USD, clothing made in marvelous designer, the armor modeled in Blender and the details in zbrush:

Final Results:

Replies

• Axi5
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Axi5 interpolator
    Seems perfectly valid to me.

The reason most shun it is because it's a good trap for beginners to fall into. They won't understand the model etc. which will cause problems later on.
  • musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    I agree with Axi5. As a beginner you should learn to model these things first before using pre-built meshes. For both practice and experience. It's like the difference between a 'script-kiddie' and a real programmer.
  • Valcroz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Valcroz polycounter lvl 4