BMW Progress/Problems

Jerry_Royals
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Jerry_Royals polycounter lvl 3
Latest Update: April 8, 2015

AdLStjM.png

Original Post:

Hello, I modeled a BMW 6-series E63. However, it is not smooth and I feel its a mess to work with. I'm starting from scratch and will post the results here. I'm planning to model, texture, and light in marmoset. I'm new to 3ds Max and have been using edge modeling. I will post here everyday. I would like help on catching any problems especially bumps that show from the spec highlight. Thanks!

These are my references: http://i.imgur.com/aX6bDw3.jpg

EuHxFBb.png
PDkEKGv.png

Replies

• Joltya
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joltya polycounter lvl 10
    I would suggest blocking the whole thing first. Don't worry about edge loops or anything like that (if you're on 2015, you may not even need edge loops and just use the crease tool.) All that comes in the modeling stage.

Block everything. Then model everything. Then texture everything.
  • BeardyDan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BeardyDan polycounter lvl 2
    Start as low, and as even as possible when constructing your base mesh. You can build it up in sections if that makes it easier. Once you've got it down, try setting up some smoothing groups and use turbosmooth (with smoothing groups turned on) to give an initial base. This will help keep your geometry even, and give you enough poly's to play around with to add any significant details.

Try to lay off adding chamfers/guide wires and giving it a final smooth over until your base for the exterior shell is complete.

Also remember to optimize your initial smooth. If you have to add any edges, be sure to use tools such as edge constraint so you don't ruin the curvature.

Also, try to keep your stacks intact, so you can reference your initial geometry.

8s893RS.jpg