Home General Discussion

Giving feedback when it isn't asked for

polycounter
Offline / Send Message
Makkon polycounter
So I just had someone on another site blow up on me when I tried to give them some constructive criticism. I'm still a little shaken up about it. Their reasoning was that they didn't ask me for feedback, and that they have trusted artists and books that they consult when they are looking to improve. They went on to say that I am a stranger and my feedback isn't welcome because I'm not a professional (I technically am, started a new job last month. Just not a veteran).

For the seasoned pros here, you know your stuff. Do you get miffed when someone who you consider to be on a lower artistic-level gives constructive criticism or points out something that is amiss? If you do, why? If not, why not?

I'm just trying to understand this. It's possible that it was a cultural difference. I'm always very straight forward and open about things, and typically I expect that from other people. I don't like beating around the bush or putting people through a gauntlet before I consider their feedback worthy of my consideration. Some people are very shy and don't like to give out feedback to other artists, especially when it isn't explicitly asked for.

Is it rude to give feedback to an artist that isn't asking for it? Is it rude not to, especially when you feel that you can help and they seem to be struggling? Am I being pretentious or egotistical in thinking that my advice is something that they want or need? Perhaps the feedback I'm giving comes off as harsh or insulting?

I just want to hear some thoughts on this, maybe it'll calm my nerves as I understand it more.

Replies

• eld
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    eld polycounter lvl 18
  • Frawmus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message