Home General Discussion

Level of skill required for Junior

Hi there,

I'm currently having a bit of a mid-life crisis... about 25 years too early, and am looking for a bit of a career change.

I currently work as an assistant for an Architectural practice doing visualisations and helping with some CAD work. While it's been good experience, my interest in CG has always leaned more towards games or animation.

I'm somewhat of a creative, always sketched, painted and drawn since I was a kid, and I suppose the 'limitations' of Arch-Viz have always frustrated me, creating sterile reproductions of Architects plans, with a constant strive for the most real looking images kind of defeats my idea of what CG is about. I don't mean to offend those working in Arch-Viz, because there are plenty of fantastically talented people in the industry, but I just want to unleash my creativity a little more and feel that the gaming industry might be a better outlet.

Aside from this, the current economic climate (whether it's improving or not) is not exactly doing wonders for the construction industry, and therefore those linked to it. I've found myself with a little more free time than usual and have been developing my skills outside of Architectural renders by working on character and environment creation.

I've done character work in my spare time since I started working in 3D but never geared towards games, so I'm learning the kind of workflows and considerations for CG in the gaming genre. I've started looking into the Unreal engine and plan to use that as a bit of practice area for creating assets and environments. I've also just downloaded the Marmoset engine and while I haven't done much more than drop a few basic models in, I'm loving it's results.