Home General Discussion

Are you in the game industry? Are you in China? Please halp me =)

CounterSeal
polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
CounterSeal polycounter lvl 10
Long story short, I have a potential job offer to work as a 3D artist in Beijing, China. Even if it doesn't go through, I would still like to know a few things... And I know of a few of ya that are in the area and hopefully would be able to help me.

A little background about me, for reference: I finished college just over half a year ago and only have a few months of professional experience in the game industry as a technical artist. In short, the studio closed and I've been somewhat relying on freelance, but those are few and far between.

I have been asked what salary I expect by the Chinese studio in question, and I really have no idea what to say. As far as I know, the US has the highest salaries, even after exchange rates and what-not... but I am pretty new to the whole global economics thing, hell, I'm new to the game industry altogether too. So my knowledge is very limited. If you have any insight on this matter, it would be greatly appreciated.

Also, if offered a job, is it customary for the company in question to assist in relocation and all that? Especially if it's for someone with only a few months of professional experience like me?

With living logistics aside, my main concern is whether or not it would be worth it for someone like me to go overseas if the money I end up saving won't be much at all when I return to the States. On the other hand, it's still difficult to find an entry-level job as a game artist in the US too, as far as I've experienced. And I always hear that experience is experience, no matter where.

Any insight or advice would be greatly appreciated as always :poly121:

Replies

• sprunghunt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter