Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sniper Rifle for Cinder Mod

I am currently working on a full scale conversion mod using the Unreal 3 engine at the Art Institute of Pittsburgh. The title of the game is Cinder. We are currently working on putting together an art package to post here on Polycount.

I just finished the first run at modelling the sniper rifle for the game, known as "Juanita". The concept was drawn by a student who has since graduated, so even though its appreciated, I'm not really looking for any advice around the concept. The concept is only being posted to show what I modelled off of. Any comments or criticism on the actual model will be greatly appreciated. I still need to add detail to the magazine. And the bipod will probably be taken off altogether.

Also, this is my first attempt at modelling a weapon.

Have at it = )

concept
juanita_side.png

side
juanita-side-wires.jpg

perspective
juanita-perspective-wires.jpg

first person
juanita-fp-wires.jpg

render
juanita_testrender4.jpg

thanks everyone
a%3E
IMG%5D
IMG%5D

Replies

• Hellspawn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Wow this looks great! I would love to shake your hand someday...maybe when we go on break! Can't wait to here what people say about it.
  • P442
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    P442 polycounter lvl 8
    i'm not getting a "sniper rifle" vibe. It seems it would be more appropriate as an assault rifle to me. Make the barrel longer. Also, the clip being behind the trigger is so awkward. Imagine how you would reload that weapon. You'd have to put the gun in your left hand and turn it upside down or have to reach under your trigger arm. Maybe if it was a laser rifle that would work, but not with bullets.
  • downarmy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    downarmy polycounter lvl 7
    too many edge that contribute to nothing just get rid of them!
  • Racer445
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Racer445 polycounter lvl 12