Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Dwarf pt2

Here is the current model I'm working on. I'm really new to modeling so I made a ton of mistakes along way, rebuilt everything a couple of times etc. It's finally at a point where I happy with the look, but unfortunately I have to find a way of removing 10k tris.

It's currently at 20k, but I want to get poly count to the dominance war specs <10k.

Suggestions would be greatly appreciated (i'll post the mesh in a bit):

dwarf01.jpg

Replies

• traden
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    here's the mesh

dwarf_mesh01.jpg
  • Snader
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snader polycounter lvl 15
    midget.png

alternatively you could get rid of the head and make that an alpha plane - saves you 5000 polies right there.
  • traden
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @Snader - thanks for the suggestions. Couple of things -

1) What do you mean by float?
    2) are you suggesting making the belt rings 3 sided instead of four?
  • Snader
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snader polycounter lvl 15
    1 by float i mean having separate objects for them, like you did with the bolts on the shoulders

2 yeah, this wouldnt work too well with alpha planes because they'd be invisible from profile view. but since they're thin wire objects they dont need a lot of shape
  • traden
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thanks Snader, I'll give your suggestions a try today.
  • d00kie
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    d00kie polycounter lvl 17
    very nice traden! :D
    You did a great job completing the mesh, now comes the part i warned you about. Optimizations.
    I'd say try and get rid of the bevels/extrusions on the boots and gloves. Only keep the ones that enhance the silhouette: the spaulders and maybe the gauntlets. You can fake most of the geo you have with textures.