Home Technical Talk

Easy 3d platformer/puzzle Engine?

Hey guys I have to create a demo of a game I am designing. It is a platformer/puzzle game where the player switches to a "design mode" to create gadjets like The Spore creature creator orbanjo kazooie, nuts and bolts, or even fantastic contraption. Then switches back and can use the gadjet in the platformer mode.

I am not much of a programmer but I can follow tutorials if they lay it out for me. I am a 3d artist/animator so content is not an issue. I am hoping to find something that is simple enough to use and has as little amount of programming as possible.

I am looking at ShiVa right now, and possibly Unity or Platinum arts sandbox. I have used NWN and UnRealEd editors in the past and even played with multiverse and a dabble in torque. I also found something called AntiryadGx and something called Esperient.

Anyway any help would be great I want to use this assignment as a chance to show my art skills but I also need the game to work as best I can, Oh and I will be using 3ds Max for the content.

Thanks!

Replies

• Lamont
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lamont polycounter lvl 15
    Id' say pick up Shiva if you've already used it a bit. You want something with as much WYSIWY(sometimes)G, easy to get data into and has plenty of documentation. There really isn't a "platformer/puzzle" engine out there unless it's for making clones. Most of these off the shelf engines have tools, demo's SDK's to show you a basic genre type to get you started.

Good luck.
  • numo16
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    numo16 polycounter lvl 9
    It seems like unity can do platformers decently, and autodesk even has a couple of tutorials for working with max and unity for a platformer

http://area.autodesk.com/tutorials?word=unity&where=1&software=1&tutotips=&level=
  • Azimn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message