Home Technical Talk

Please help a newb get his feet wet

Hello everyone,
I'm very new to game design, and taken an interest in the modeling aspect, which brings me here.

Ive been playing around with what i can get my hands including: blender, Maya, s3d. the trial versions of Maya & s3d, are just too hindering. Blender, just feels under powered and unfinished; cant blame it though, being gnu.

Basically the question I'm having are:

• What are your recommendations as far as software goes? what do you think a highly respect developer should be versed in?

• Besides illegally downloading auto desk's apps, is there a way to get their software for personal usage( w/o watermark)? 1k is a bit of money for me to drop onto software right now.
  • Any other communities one should be aware of besides those affiliated with dominance war?

Thank you for your time.

Replies

• RickFX
    i used to have 3ds max 8 as student edition, its way cheaper (around 120 euro) and you can use it for 2 years if youre a student. just not for comercial use.

3dtotal is affiliated with DW too as far as i know.

- Rick.
  • renderhjs
    Offline / Send Message
    renderhjs sublime tool
    maybe ask that same question autodesk - see what they have to say. I heard that recently autodesk dropped the price at all for students for their AutoCAD and some other products I believe.
    http://www.downloadsquad.com/2006/12/22/autodesk-gives-students-free-software/
    you can register / download here (be carefull though - the website seems not to be that honest with whats in it for you)
    http://students4.autodesk.com/?nd=register&und=624
    Of course they want to track you as a student and charge or ask as soon as you graduated but all in all I think its a more reasonable step to go - something that better fits into reality.

maya or max is not within that agreement but chances might be that things will change there. Houdinie from sideFX software
    http://www.sidefx.com/