Home Technical Talk

Maya transparency rendering issues

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
John Warner polycounter lvl 18
hey guys, i've got some decals that i'm trying to render in a scene in maya. basically i've got cards that have transparent alpha setups going on.

everything looks fine in the viewport, but when i do a render in maya, I'm getting the transparent bits of the card showing up very subtlly.. as if they're mostly transparent but just slightly vissible. this shit also casts shaddows.

It's really fucking me, i gotta tell you.

anyone have any ideas?

Replies

• ChaosEidolon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ChaosEidolon polycounter lvl 17
    Are you using the Maya renderer or a plugin program?

I am no pro at renders, but I do know that Maya is...well...a steaming PoS when it comes to dealing with transparency and sorting. This goes for viewport but I think it carries over to it's default renderer as well.

Not very helpful im afraid, but if you have access to another software package id recommend giving it a go in that instead.
  • Microneezia
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Microneezia polycounter lvl 10
    check your spec maps! that always gets me, on the alpha sections make sure no spec is on that area!
  • MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    Yes indeed, it's the same in any renderer - you have to mask out any other maps you're using with the same opacity mask, since the specular level (or reflection, or whatever similar maps you're using) on those parts might still have some value, unless you already filled those areas completely black in your textures.
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Can't you disable shadow cast/receive on a per object basis? Turning both off for the cards might help.
  • rooster
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rooster mod