Home General Discussion

I have OFFICIALLY given up on Vista (rant)

This is my rant ... my rant about how Vista has screwed me over for the last time. (this is going to be very long)

I'm a game art student at Fort Lauderdale ... so I am heavily dependent on my desktop PC to function properly and most efficiently. SO when I got my new bitching awesome computer, I figured I should use vista since, ya know, I had a beast of a machine that could run it.

Needless to say I had my issues and problems, but tonight ... tonight was the last straw.

I have a midterm to turn in tomorrow. Really simple and easy midterm. Make a level in unreal 2004 using its editor. I had to load 10 static meshes created by myself, including the textures, add some emitters, one single mover, a skybox ... All very simple, just tedious.

Last night, Saturday.

After working for about an hour, my computer starts giving me shit again. It’s been acting up for quite some time and I haven't been able to fix the problem effectively. So I figured I’ll give my hard drivesssSSSSS a good formatting, deleting any software related problems it may have, and install a fresh copy of vista.

SO, 1st problem

Vista wasn't letting me format my storage hard drive. I found this to be very odd. I went online and did a few searches and it appears to have happened to other people before but they couldn't figure it out neither. Well lucky me, I have a docking station for sata hard drives. I pulled that sucker out, formatted it (which took a long time) on my laptop and then I popped that baby back in to my pc.

2nd problem

with my clean storage drive in there, I turn my computer on, still running windows vista on the main hard drive. Once I get to my desktop, I want to install a fresh copy on the empty drive.
not letting me
restart
nothing
go into bios, boot priority cd-rom
not letting me
I’m thinking it’s a hardware issue now. I test my stuff out, it all checks out. I run some more test, nothing.