Home Technical Talk

Low Polygon Joints - What is the best way?

I found 2 good tutorials on this that explain it with images

Jonathan Rush Ancient-Pig's basic deformation tutorial
ex2.jpg

Ben Mathis (poopinmymouth) Limb Deformation tutorial
limb_deformations.gif

But then I saw something on these forums that had these 2 pictures

Spacey's post on polycount
elbow_test.jpg

pnyx's post on polycount
lowbendings8au.jpg

That last example with the purple leg, does it have 2 bones in it? I'm new to rigging so I cant tell. But I really only need it for posing my low poly 3d model (that isnt done quite yet, because I need to figure this out and a few other thing :poly124:).

Are they all good methods or do I just need to use whatever helps me the most for polycount?

EDIT: added links before each image, sorry for not mentioning the tutorials.

Replies

• Codeman
    very cool refs. I am curious about them as well.
  • Mark Dygert
    All of those are extremely low poly examples and I'm not really sure the lessons they teach translate to the games we make today (with the exception of AP's examples at the top). A lot more can be done with helper joints and more advanced weighting then just two bones and on or off weighting. I like Ancient Pigs joint approach, it works pretty well. I add a little more geometry and a patch in the back but its pretty much the same idea.

All of the second examples could be improved if they adjusted the joint placement, but they probably didn't do it, because its more dramatic with it poorly aligned.