Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Medieval Street Level

Just working on a level / environment art piece, and wanted to post the WiP up at polycount to get crits and suggestions, as always

its my first project of the year, starting on the first day of the year.
i want to gauge where my skill-set is at the moment, then be able to look back at the end of the year.

well, enough talk, more art:

medievalStreet_WIP01.jpg

just a couple of modular pieces i made in a few hours' work

medieval Europe is my main reference; especially the walking street and docks at Copenhagen

at the moment not really looking for anything specific, but if you notice anything bad / good thats worth a mention, then please do

cheers!

Replies

• Lamont
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lamont polycounter lvl 15
    Nice start. I do have a crit for the fountain, I'd make it more interesting. It seems pretty plain-Jane. Add more geometric detail for the lip. Try to define it's "age".

Here are some fountains from that time period:

marienbrunnen2.jpg

Rhodes+City,+Medieval+Fountain+026.jpg

258%20Rome%20Tour%20-%20Another%20Fountain%20in%20Bruno%27s%20Medieval%20Square.jpg
  • okno
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Looks good so far. Remember, often there is unevenness, sagging etc. in buildings from those times, especially the wooden buildings.
  • 00Zero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    good start. what level of detail are you going for? will you be viewing these from a perspective of the street? or from up high? id imagine street, if so, you need more detail especially on the fountain. and bevel some edges and move around some verts so they're not so mechanical
  • indian_boy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    wow sorry for the _late_ reply.
    school work and general stress about uni applications had kinda pushed this project 'back' in terms of priority
    also a small pet project came in the way etc etc