Home General Discussion

Art Production Houses, what are they like?

As an aspiring game artist, I've recently been looking at a lot of companies that do nothing but art work, for other peoples games.

I was wondering if anyone has worked in/with such companies, and if so, whats it like working for one?

Is it like a sweap shop of the Digital world, or a dream come true for poly heads like ourselves?

~Matt

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It really depends on the place. I've heard horror stories and then I've also heard great things, often about the same place. I'm left scratching my head.

I think the best thing to do would be go in with your eyes open assume the place is a sweat shop and be surprised when its not.

If they are open to it, freelance from home.
  • Cybroxide
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cybroxide polycounter lvl 17
    I think the greatest advantages of working at an art outsourcing house are being able to work on a great variety of different styles and constraints ie (next gen, previous gen, handheld, realistic, stylized etc) in a short amount of time and you are constantly being pushed to learn new techniques because almost every company wants you to build assets that will hamonize with their pipeline.
    There are often tight deadlines though, so you have to be able to deliver a great looking asset in a very short time. OR ELSE!

I'm sure this varys from company to company but this has been my expierence.
  • Spock
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks, both of you. I figured tight deadlines would be a certainty, but I am excited by the possibility of getting a lot of good stuff I could put in a portfolio. I hadn't considered the possibility of freelancing for such a company either. Thats certainly something I'll check out when the time comes!
  • stimpack
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    stimpack polycounter lvl 10