Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Usp .40 s&w [wip]

Hey guys, im new to polycount
and relatively new to 3d modelling.
This is a USP .40 S&W, designed for the half life 2 engine.
Base mesh is now undergoing optimization :D
basemesh1um7.jpg

Replies

• Smirnoffka
    Offline / Send Message
    Smirnoffka polycounter lvl 17
    Lots of ngons. Gotta triangulate that shit. Not a big gun nut, I'm sure some other guys can help you will the actual form of the gun.
  • ramstheman
    Thx for the advice smirnoffka, eliminated all the N-gons i could see.
    Also I beefed up the width a bit and added an indentation where the sight sits.
    Shaved off about 300 polys in the process, booya! :Dupdatelw2.jpg
  • Zephir62
    Offline / Send Message
    Zephir62 polycounter lvl 12
    for being new to modeling, you seem to have it figured out pretty well. Looks nice, start texturing that bitch!
  • Flewda
    Offline / Send Message
    Flewda polycounter lvl 17
    Here's some reference of my USP, hopefully it'll be helpful. There's a couple of things off about your model, however for being a new modeler, it's quite well done. Good job! This is a .45 cal, looks to be slightly different from what your model is based on, but a lot of the shapes are the same.

Ugh, after seeing these pics with flash, made me see how much I need to clean this thing again :) Sorry for some of the poor quality shots. Didn't have time this morning to take shots with good settings/lighting :) Just used the Auto Flash.

www.3dpowers.net/USP

*EDIT* Bitmap just pwned my images with this link. This link has better lit, and quality images.

http://www.pixagogo.com/7735284132
  • Dakkon
    Offline / Send Message
    Dakkon polycounter lvl 10