Home General Discussion

New setup acceptable?

well, a friend of mine helped me put together this system, please let me know after reading below if you think i should move to an SLI ready mobo

Mobo-Asus P5K-E/wifi (p35 chipset)
CPU-intel core 2 duo 3.16Ghz
RAM- 4 GB OCZ sli ready
HD-500GB seagate SATA2
Video cards - dual Nvidia Geforce 9800 GTX+

I originally wanted an SLI setup simply to be able to occasionally play COD4 at highest resolution and figured it couldnt hurt if i was going to be running 3dsMax, autoCAD, Catia V5, Maya, etc... mind you I readily admit I am new to this I just wanted a decent platform to work with as my old computer died a while back. I didnt know ahead of time that this mobo wasnt SLI compatible as it uses "cross fire" technology. i guess my buddy was in a hurry as he got deployed 2 days before he helped me put this together on newegg. Do you guys think i will be ok with just one graphics card? that way I could send one back and put that money towards a tablet.... thanks in advance oh mighty gurus of graphics.

Replies

• Jeremy Lindstrom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jeremy Lindstrom polycounter lvl 18
    why no quad core?
  • Jonathan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'd just get a GTX 260 or GTX 280 and a quad-core instead of that dual-core.

Quad-cores are great for 3d work and for games. I wouldn't worry about SLI. What is he thinking getting you to buy two 9800gtx cards? They're "ancient" now. :p

I would recommend to buy the 4870x2 from ATI which is around the corner, but I cannot recommend it if you do 3d work, as I've never heard too good reviews about ATI cards and 3d programs.
  • tiki240
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ::shrug:: i figured the dual core was sufficient....
  • tiki240
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    lol... so i should send back BOTH cards AND my CPU and go with the GTX 280 and a quad core but keep the Mobo? and will i need a tablet?
  • Jonathan
    Options