Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My first post here!

Hey all! I'm new to polycount, i've been a GA.org member for a while... and as great as that site is.. i feel like its a bit "large" for personal critique and heavily spamed with similar work. anywho! this is a character i've almost got completed. my real question is if anyone can tell me whats going on with my gif? it doesn't loop seamlessly... why?:poly134:

j6pt2h.jpg

10gcugz.jpg

2ptbbxj.jpg

Replies

• fritz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fritz polycounter lvl 18
    i would rework the abs by all means. they are a bit crazed....as is the belly button.
  • sir-knight
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sir-knight polycounter lvl 10
    I can cut myself on his pecks and abs :P

might just be me but I find the edges there to be a little on the sharp side, either in geometry or mesh... anyone else see that?

Otherwise he looks pretty bitchin.
  • BrodyB
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yeah, the bump makes the abs and pecks look really hard-edged. But otherwise, this is beautiful stuff!

Oh, and wires und textures und tricount!
  • mattimus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here is another normal bake of the abs and chest.. i tried to dull out some of the details... did it help? is it a noticable change?

11cgi9t.jpg
    2ce4095.jpg
    fbyjy8.jpg
  • Pope Adam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pope Adam polycounter lvl 11
    I think the sharp looking musculature is from the color channel. maybe lighten the heavy dark color you've used to paint in the shadow detail, i think it becomes a little overbearing when you've got the hard, dark details in the color channel while having the bump channel creating more darkness at the same time.
  • fritz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fritz polycounter lvl 18