Home Technical Talk

Q: laptop (w/ ATI Radeon x300) for May/3dsMax

Hello all,

Considering to get used laptop, and wondering if it is suitable to use maya (8.0-8.5), and 3dsMax (9.0).

Specs are...
-Thinkpad T43
-Pentium M 2Ghz
-1Gb Ram
-80Gb HDD (5400rpm)
-ATI Radeon x300

Particularly I am worrying about video card part as I've never used ATI line before...
Thinking of doing light modeling and scripting (no heavy rendering) on the laptop at this moment.

Any advise would be appreciated~

Rybeck

Replies

• MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    I would recommend against that, it seems very old and low-spec.
    My laptop which I got about 3-4 years ago has an ATI Radeon x700 in it, which I am guessing is better than that... also it has 2gb RAM, 160gb HD and 2.6ghz processor.

So unless that is insanely cheap (like $50 or something), I wouldn't bother. It probably won't be able to display normalmaps or any advanced pixel shaders.

Sounds like you could do a lot better, but it depends on your budget.
  • rybeck
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP wrote: »
    So unless that is insanely cheap (like $50 or something), I wouldn't bother. It probably won't be able to display normalmaps or any advanced pixel shaders.

Sounds like you could do a lot better, but it depends on your budget.

Hey MoP, thanks for honest comment...

I wish I can afford more bang for 'secshy & hiend' machine, but for now my budget is quite low (500 plus minus), and I need one to stay away from my place really bad and really soon (my apt will going to be too hot to stay over the summer... and no A/C is allowed)
    I don't think I will expect normal map capability from current laptop I have in mind, but at least I wish it won't hick up too much from light modeling since that's primarily what I need.