Home Technical Talk

Questions/confirmations for 3ds Max and Maya

Big Rocket
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Big Rocket polycounter lvl 18
Hi everyone,

I am trying to find the most efficient workflow to model cinematic quality models. My primary concern is 3D modeling; animation is not terribly important at this stage, as long as I can pose the models reasonably. I am an amateur hobbyist, open to either Maya or 3ds Max.

Smooth Surfaces

1. In 3ds Max, if I want to work with subdivision surfaces, I have to start out with a polygon object, then convert it via the HSDS, MeshSmooth, or TurboSmooth modifiers, right? I don't think you can start out with a subdivision object right from the get-go (like in Maya), but please correct me if I'm mistaken.

2. In 3ds Max, the subdivision objects (obtained via HSDS, MeshSmooth, or TurboSmooth) are just objects with finely triangulated surfaces, right? In other words, can I get subdivision surfaces that are mathematically and infinitely smooth, like Nurbs?

3. In Maya, if I create a polygon object, then do a Subdiv Proxy, the resulting object is a finely triangulated surface, not mathematically and infinitely smooth, right?

4. In Maya, if I start out with a Subdiv object (Create > Subdiv Primitives > Sphere), or if I convert a polygon object into a Subdiv object (Modify > Convert > Polygons to Subdiv), the resulting object is truly mathematically and infinitely smooth, right?

Symmetry

5. To ensure left-right symmetry in Maya models, the best technique I have found so far is to work in polygons, then do a Mesh > Mirror Cut. Then, when I am done in the low-poly stage, I can Convert > Polygons to Subdiv to get the final high-poly model. Is there a better technique? FYI, Subdiv Proxy with Mirror Behavior set to Full also works nicely, as long as you are not concerned with triangulated surfaces versus infinitely smooth surfaces.