Home Technical Talk

The ultimate be-all end-all Parallax mapping thread

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
McBradd polycounter lvl 12
I'm a junior 3D artist, and I've found "The ultimate be-all end-all normal mapping thread" by Per128 incredibly useful.

Regarding Parallax maps, I've been searching through the forums, and while there is a lot of info here, it's all just scattered fragments.

I'm hoping some of the veterans can take a moment and flesh out this thread to include:
1) A Breakdown of the theory behind Parallax mapping
2) Examples of how and when to use Parallax mapping correctly and efficiently
3) When not to use Parallax mapping
4) Links to, or brief tutorials on generating Parallax maps.

Thanks

Replies

• Ryan Clark
    Offline / Send Message
    Ryan Clark polycounter lvl 18
    I'm sure my advice is far from "be all/end all," but I'll give it a shot!

1) A Breakdown of the theory behind Parallax mapping

Parallax mapping is a technique for real-time approximation of displacement mapping.

Each pixel's texture coordinates are adjusted at render-time to create an illusion of depth as the viewer's eye moves across a scene.

The virtue of parallax mapping is efficiency. It is the cheapest real-time technique for displacement mapping.

The drawback is image quality. Parallax mapping doesn't look as nice as more expensive techniques such as "parallax occlusion mapping" and "relief mapping." Those techniques are similar to parallax mapping, but provide better image quality at a cost of additional texture lookups.

2) Examples of how and when to use Parallax mapping correctly and efficiently

As a rule, parallax mapping looks good on walls and floors. Any mesh with a relatively large surface viewed from non-oblique angles could be a decent candidate for parallax mapping.

In your heightmap, try to avoid sharp/steep edges and tall high-frequency details. Those can cause texture-stretching and rendering artifacts.