Home Technical Talk

How could i unwrap this?

buddikaman
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
buddikaman polycounter lvl 18
Im new to unwrapping and was looking for advice on how i could unwrap this in 3dsmax. Not the basics but general theory on were to cut the seams and to use cylindrical or planar, ect in 3DSMAX 9. I tried using UVLayout but it seems more suited to organix meshes. Thanks!

compi2le1errorqo4.jpg

-Buddikaman-

Replies

• Sage
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sage polycounter lvl 19
    Well I would mirror everything that has the same shape. What that means is you unwrap the item once and all it's clones get the unwrap. How to learn where to put seams? I learned by breaking models up into pieces, of course when I started doing this it was 1999 and there was no flatten uvs in Maxs unwrap modifier. I think you should pick some square chunks of your model and run it. It will break it up. Go under edge mode and then use stitch. Try to make the uv chunks join together in ways that they are easy to paint. Then look at how the uv islands look once you stitched them together and try to visualize where you have to put seams on a model so it unwraps like that. That's how I learned. I used a script called chilliskiner back when modding for quake 3 was in demand. wink.gif

You put planar maps on the object so selections of faces of the object produce an uv island that is as flat as possible. The goal is to produce an easy template to paint on.

Here is a link to Ego Lounge since it shows a bunch of tutorials for max. When I look at tutorials is look at them for inspiration, since they usually set off a light bulb in my brain for something that I'm just missing but it's right in from of my eyes. So take them with a grain of slat. Do a search on unwraping. Go to the uv layout site and look at how he puts seams on the models try that on boxes and wedges and you should figure out how to put seams on complex objects.

What I would do.