Home Technical Talk

Artifacts in normal map...

pillowsama
polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
pillowsama polycounter lvl 17
I've generated my normal map in maya using the transfer map for both the head and the body... but after rendering, artifacts show up for the body (quite clearly too..) but not for the head, does anyone know why this is?? the image below shows the artifacts that i talked about..
issuesbm2.jpg
Shot at 2007-07-28

Any help would be appreciated, thnx guys!!

Replies

• Chai
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Chai polycounter lvl 17
    I'm not sure which artifacts you're reffering to ... do you mean the smoothing errors ? (the black spots around the sharp lowpoly areas)
  • MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    Almost looks like image compression to me ... what format is that normal map saved as?
    Unfortunately I have no experience with Maya's normal mapping so I can't help further.
  • Asthane
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Asthane polycounter lvl 18
    What MoP said, also-- what are the maps' respective resolutions? (Or if they're on the same map, equative UV space)
  • fritz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fritz polycounter lvl 18
    yeah. to me it looks as tho you may have given lots more space for the head as opposed to the body.
  • Joshua Stubbles
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joshua Stubbles polycounter lvl 19
    [ QUOTE ]
    yeah. to me it looks as tho you may have given lots more space for the head as opposed to the body.

[/ QUOTE ]

Ditto.
    The body's texel area looks to be about 1/2 of what you gave the head. Can you show us the UV map for this? Or is it different textures? Did you use 1 512x512 for the head, and 1 512x512 for the body? That would be why it looks so bad. You need to keep the texel density even.
  • Mongrelman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mongrelman polycounter lvl 18