Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Warrior WIP

My first attempt at modeling anything organic. The design is pretty much winged, concept art is limited to a few armor sketches. I suck at drawing and I don't feel motivated to improve it.

There's a whole story behind the two models, but who cares?

Looking for crits on poly flow.

gal_render1.jpg

I'll probably remodel the head, not quite satisfied with it.

In the end, I'll put it into Jedi Academy (old stuff, I know, but the only one I'm modding for right now) and maybe create a higher detail version of the armors for Oblivion.

EDIT: While I'm at it, gonna fix the smoothing groups as well.

Replies

• DarthRevanII
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DarthRevanII polycounter lvl 18
    little warning for you :x
    Drawing and concepts really are a very important part of great modelling and art. Not that I'm a great concept artist of these forums, I still make doodles and somewhat decent drawings of a lot of things I think of...even it's just a basic outline and key points. A concept will produce a better structure model than doing it from your head; you'll lose your design and focus otherwise.

with that being said and back to what I said about a warning, blatantly stating that you don't care enough to produce your concept might annoy some people, and keep others from posting all together. It might show that you really don't care about your project, and that you just want people to pat you on the back and say "good job!" I don't mean this in any kind of negative way, I just don't want to see you or others being rubbed the wrong way

Now, with that out of the way, don't say your story behind the characters don't matter, it only enhances your art :P. People can choose to, or choose not to read your story behind the character. Give it a headline in the thread so people can do that smile.gif