Home General Discussion

Tips for getting a QA position?

I was just wondering if anyone has any advice on how to 1 up the competition when applying for a QA position. Since I'm still a student and learning all the cool art stuff, I figure why not try to get a QA position to earn some industry experience? What say you?

Replies

• flaagan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    flaagan polycounter lvl 18
    Prove you're not a total tool. Show that you can work well with others, particularly in order try and find the source of a problem. If you've got any technical knowledge, that's too your advantage, as a lot of the QA guy's I've worked with don't have a f'ing clue as to what goes into making the game. Patience is important... you're likely going to be spending a LOT of time staring at that one game, and probably will have to deal with other QA people that you don't get along with, so keeping a cool head is a plus. Being able to clearly explain a problem you experience in the game is key - a poorly worded bug is just as useless as not reporting the bug, and keep in mind you're likely to be the one who has to regress the bug once it's been claim fixed, or you may not be, so whoever has to read your bug report needs to be able to clearly know how to reproduce the bug. (A little hint: if the game has a coordinate system you're using to report the location of a bug, DO NOT solely rely on that, as the devs may at any time remove that from the game engine, and you're suddenly left not know where the hell the problem occurred at.)

Hope that's the kind of answer you're looking for. smile.gif
  • Pseudo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pseudo polycounter lvl 18
    Flaagan hit most of the points with his wall of text.

When I was doing interviews the people who stood out to me were the ones that knew how and why games worked. The art side of things wont help you, but being an aspiring game developer will.