Home General Discussion

putting down the mouse

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
I'm officially putting down the mouse for a while, for some reason I thought it was a good idea to put my life on hold while I try and get a nice portfolio together.

My dad came down with a strange sickness shortly after I graduated from college. It turned out to be pancreatic cancer and he died about 14 months later.

I only realized this morning that there was a dividing line in my life where art was fun and flowed through me to now where at best opening maya or photoshop induces mild stomach cramps to anxiety attacks at worse.

I guess I'm posting this because I have trouble talking to people, in person or on im. Maybe I'm posting to make it official, I tried working on some textures today despite my decision and the familiar dread flowed over me. Maybe it's an apology to everyone who's been helping me and encouraging me for the last 3 years.

I'm going to get help and turn my life around and hopefully I'll make a comeback down the road.

Replies

• Weiser_Cain
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Weiser_Cain polycounter lvl 18
    Hey, do what you think is best. Nothing is more important than your health and happiness.
  • thomasp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thomasp hero character
    this kind of thing happens if you can't hold the balance. sorry but it's a totally stupid idea "to put life on hold" for a while.

you can't just sit there for ages, doing nothing than 3d. that's the best way to burn out really fast. even worse: surround yourself mostly with videogame-freaks, play games all the time and on top of that use them as your main source of inspiration.
    if you want to do this for a living and for longer than one product-cycle, you should make sure to stay fresh and motivated - by pursuing other interests that do not require a computer nearby, for example.