Home Technical Talk

maya highpoly modelling?

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Sa74n polycounter lvl 18
hey.

i just wanted to know if there are any helpful plugins, mel-scripts or other tools that ease the workflow a little. i'm quite new to highpoly modeling so i'm grateful for any help i can get. i mainly model environment objects so if there are specific tips for mechanical stuff that would be cool. while browsing pc i found some helpful tips by per128 and the floating geometry method.

any other tips you guys could share?

-henning

Replies

• Snowfly
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snowfly polycounter lvl 18
    don't limit your toolset to polys for high poly modeling.it's worth learning NURBS and surfaces in Maya for mechanical objects especially.
  • Daz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Daz polycounter lvl 18
    [ QUOTE ]
    don't limit your toolset to polys for high poly modeling.it's worth learning NURBS and surfaces in Maya for mechanical objects especially.

[/ QUOTE ]

Couldn't agree more. I just lost a job because of lack of nurbs experience. Still, it wasn't realtime stuff. My own dumb fault for not having touched nurbs in about 5 years I suppose.

But anyway, what is it you're specifically looking for? On the poly side, a friend just showed me this script which is pretty nice: http://www.highend3d.com/maya/downloads/mel_scripts/modeling/poly_tools/3304.html
    Beyond that, hard to know how to help you in terms of mel scripts without explanation of what it is that you can't currently do without scripts. All the old useful stuff from the likes of mjpolytools etc is pretty much in maya 7.0 now.
  • Steve Schulze
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Steve Schulze polycounter lvl 18
    So NURBS aren't just a somewhat impractical looking artifact of the days before Subdiv modelling? I suppose I'd best give them a look...
  • Daz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Daz polycounter lvl 18