Home General Discussion

How much to charge?

StormShadow
polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
StormShadow polycounter lvl 17
I've been contacted by a small independent game company that has asked me how much I charge for freelance. They haven't given me much info on the game (not even a link to a site), I have the feeling they don't have a publisher. So what would be a fair price to charge per hour for character work? I was thinking around $20-25 per hour.

Thanks!

Replies

• MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    That sounds like a decent rate to me.
  • Snowfly
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snowfly polycounter lvl 18
    Yup that rate sounds fair.

Just be sure to back it up with a schedule, and stick to it. And also provide a rate for revisions.
  • TomDunne
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    TomDunne polycounter lvl 18
    I freelance for a living - haven't had a W2 to file with my income tax in a couple of years. Pricing is always a tricky thing, as it depends on where you live, the supply/demand in your field, the size of your client, the demands of your client, the timeframe, your level of experience and about a hundred other things.

This may roxor your boxorz a bit, but I don't do a twinge of 3D work for any client at all for less than $50 an hour. When it gets into full production animation, it's lawyer money - $100/hour minimum, and I even bill for render time. $20/hour just strikes me as too low, like html web monkey cash. Remember, as a contractor, you don't get the benefits a regular employee would (insurance, retirement, etc) and it's assumed by clients that they'll have to pay you a higher hourly rate than what their inhouse guys get in terms of actual salary numbers.