Home General Discussion

Pelt Mapping for XSI

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
James Edwards polycounter lvl 18
Hey XSI heads. Just found this linked from XSIBase...

http://www.highend3d.com/xsi/downloads/plugins/texturing/3805.html

XSI has great UV tools but it's been missing some sort of auto unwrap or pelting system till now. This is a first gen plugin but it looks very promising already!

Replies

• ElysiumGX
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ElysiumGX polycounter lvl 18
    Installed. Checking out the readme file, this plugin is perfect. I was still using Wings3D to Unwrap complex shapes made in XSI, but now I can give this a try. Damn I love this app.
  • skrubbles
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    skrubbles polycounter lvl 18
    I started learning XSI a few weeks ago. I'm a lontime Max user (since before it was maxed) and it didn't take long to get used to working in XSI and I love the new peltmapping that's in Max8.... great that XSI now has this capability as well. I haven't played with the UV tools in XSI yet (just modeling), but I'm sure I'll be using this plugin.
  • James Edwards
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    http://www.mindthink.de/

New one by Helge Mathee of Mindthink. I like this one much better. It's easier to use and just works without having to play with a bunch of obscure spring settings. Still in beta, but I got it to do this pretty quick:

XSI_Pelt.gif

Check out the demo videos on the download page (registration required).
  • thomasp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thomasp hero character
    so, how do you paint on an uv layout like that? don't get me wrong - i've started to use pelt (or as blender likes to call it: lscm) mapping as well but never to this extreme. apart from being useful for a quick uv job for baking high-rez geometry this seems more difficult to work with than the worst hand-made uv layouts imaginable.
  • James Edwards
    Options
    Offline / Send Message