Home Technical Talk

Need help :-/

hamburghannes
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
hamburghannes polycounter lvl 18
Hi there.

First of all, I am a newbie concerning 3DSMAX, so please answer as detailed as possible.

Working through several tutorials, I came across 2 problems:

[ 1 ]

I created two different objects, a cylinder a modified box.
I placed them next to each other, selected both and converted the selection to an editable mesh.
After that I wanted to create faces between some vertices of the different objects.
This seems to be impossible. I can only choose vertices belonging to one object while creating faces - at least, that's how it seems...
On the picture you can see the face I wanted to create ( red line ).

http://img440.imageshack.us/img440/4002/prob19cw.jpg

[ 2 ]

When trying to create a UV map, I selected two different objects, converted those to an editable mesh and chose the modifier "unwrap uvw". Unfortunately I can't press the "edit" button and the sub-menu which should say "select faces" does not show up either ( red circle in picture )
The only way I can make the submenu and the edit button accessible is by selecting only one object before using the "unwrap uv" modifier.
This is definately wrong I think, I saw people selecting their whole model built up of several groups before unwraping it, and it worked. what did I do wrong?

http://img467.imageshack.us/img467/1469/prob23pf.jpg

Thanks a lt in adcance!

Regards, hamburghannes

Replies

• MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    These problems are occuring because you are not physically Attaching the objects together.

Converting 2 selected objects to Editable Mesh does not make them one object, it makes them into two separate Editable Mesh objects.