Home Technical Talk

Texturing - Whats Wrong with my settings?

Irodex
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Irodex polycounter lvl 18
Hey guys.

Im pretty new to texturing, and have been watching all the video tutorials I can get my hands on. I have an Intuos 3 and Photoshop. I have been trying to do the Hellboy video tutorial and cant seem to get the same strokes as the artist on the video.

At the step Im at, this is what the artist's painting looks like :

25720091254.jpg

And this is what mine looks like :

25720085875.jpg

As you can see, the lines in mine lack much of the detail and seem to be one solid color. Is there any settings I can set my Wacom to in Photoshop or in the drivers (I currently have the Ocpacity Jitter set at Pen Pressure, same with the Flow) to make my lines look more like his? If you don't know what wrong with mine, could people share what they set their brush settings to in Photoshop to draw lines like that?

Thanks guys, much appriciated.

Replies

• Slum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Slum polycounter lvl 18
    I normally dont bother with flow, and set the opacity to pen pressure. Not quite sure why yours isn't working, though. I had problems once with my Wacom not picking up my pressure. Restarting photoshop usually fixed it.
  • Sean McBride
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sean McBride polycounter lvl 18
    Yeah, for some reason mine does that too pretty randomly. SOmetimes when photoshop looses focus. What ive found is either re-opening photoshop works like slum said... Also sometimes it just absolutely WILL NOT work i then unplug my tablet and wait untill i hear that little "unplugged" sound that windows plays. Then I plug it back in. I guess it resets and then it works.

Hope that helps.
  • Slum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Slum polycounter lvl 18