Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Q3 Model: First Job

beewap
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
beewap polycounter lvl 18
Hi all, i'm a cg student and here is my first job. A Q3 Model. 1100 Tris and some hours later here my result. I liked to work leather and her face. Let me some critics and tips for for my future jobs.

concept_small.jpg
model_small.jpg
texture_small.jpg

Click on the thumbnail. wink.gif
Thx a lot.

This evening you will have many post on a model Quake 3, we are all in the same class. :d

Replies

• Slash
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Slash polycounter lvl 19
    Her arms are a bit long. And her suit is awfully orange. a few seams, zippers or anything at all would really add some variation to the huge orange areas. quite frankly they get a bit boring... Other than that, its a well executed model, with good likeness of concept and finished model.

Good job!
  • beewap
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thx Slash for your comment. Effectively, too much orange. Need somes details.
    I will pay attention for my next jobs.

Thx
  • spacemonkey
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    spacemonkey polycounter lvl 18
    If you want some suggestions on your polygon usage you might want to post some wireframes of the characters.

To me both of the characters hands are pointed in an unatural direction. The elbow pads point back - suggesting that the palms should face forward (the right hand seems to be on upside down?? )
    Its good to see your put some asymetrical elements on the character but overall the design is quite plain.
    The highlights on the shoulder pads are too big - try to use smaller sharper highlights in contrast to shadows.
    The characters anatomny could use work, get good photo reference and use it to help maintain good proportions for your characters.

I think it is a good first attemtp, keep on working and improving. wink.gif
  • beewap
    Options
    Offline / Send Message