Home Technical Talk

Holy crap. XSI problem!

Blankstate
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Blankstate polycounter lvl 18
Hey guys. I'm not sure if this is really the right place to post this message, but I'm in dire need of help. This is my first time seriously modeling anything for a modification to Half-Life 2 as well as my first time using XSI, so I'm still learning the tricks and whatnot... I was busily going along for about 3 hours without saving until I ran into this:

Argh.jpg

What the hell happened or what did I do? I saved it to a secondary file and opened up the primary, which looks just fine. However, newly created objects in the secondary [messed up] file come up the same way.

This is how it should look:

4.jpg

I have absolutely no idea what happened, so any help would be appreciated.

Replies

• James Edwards
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    James Edwards polycounter lvl 18
    I'll take a look at the file if you like. I don't have the latest "mod tool" version of XSI for HL2, but I do have the EXP for HL2 version installed based on 3.5 so maybe I can help.
  • Blankstate
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sure thing, Gwot. What file [I assume it's the .EXP file] am I sending where? smile.gif
  • James Edwards
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yeah I forget what the format is for exp files and xsi has a crazy project based file folder system so it will be nested within a scene folder within the folder for that project (whatever you named it).

jedwards@digitalextremes.com is fine
  • Blankstate
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hmm. Interestingly, I loaded up Counter-Strike: Source's Urban_reference.exp and started making add-ons for the Marines in my mod, and newly generated primitives and hand-created polys all had the same problem. Maybe I screwed something with XSI.

I was running 3.5 also; I'm installing 4.2 Mod Tools as we speak. If it doesn't fix it, I'll swing the file your way.
  • Blankstate