Home Career & Education

Game art school .... yes another thread

Not sure if this is the right place for this but  : 
I'm currently a high school student doing btec extended art and I'm sure that game art is what I want to go for. I'm hoping that maybe one day i'll be either a skin designer , ui artist or environment artist, but I really dont know very much about this industry , so any help would honestly be very appreciated.

I'm hoping that anyone could share some insight on what courses to go for. I have looked at fzd, hertfordshire , gnomon, art center, flinders, falmouth , ringling etc but most reviews I could find were very mixed and with little explanation , or were just straight up not recommended for high school students for various reasons. When I looked here on most threads about game art schools were over a decade old and mainly just said that you should get a gnomon subscription / cgma/ online courses in general , lock yourself in a room and practice like hell for a few years. However , to be honest I would much rather get a degree or diploma at an accredited institution, so I was wondering if anyone had recommendations, or had gone to the unis i mentioned above or know anything about it .

I'm looking for something that will actually help me improve my skills and forgive my language but not be utter bullshit. A lot of the advice on here recommends that game art is a useless degree and that I should study something else and do game art in my own time to learn, but I feel as though this would be a massive waste of energy since I'm sure that this is the field I want to do and since I do btec art at high school (basically means like 80% of my high school classes are art and design) I essentially don't qualify for any uni courses that are not art . I have been in hong kong my entire life so i dont know much about these courses or the areas in general (by that I mean I have never been to america or the uk ever).