Home General Discussion

Can i ask the artist to change the "visual" style of their concept? (anime to comic/realistic style)

firstly i am a beginner at sculpting, but i have previous drawing knowledge like anatomy, shape appeal, composition etc... i am learning to be an sculptor for collectibles, so i am following an instruction that i received.

the instructor said: go to arstation and look for concepts you like, after you found an conceptthe instructor said: "go on arstation and look for character concepts, after you found an concept you liked then ask for permission of the artist to do use their concept to make a sculpture of them, you could make your own design but if you are a beginner you shouldnt try to make an concept of your own, that might be too hard on you and the design will have a high chance of not looking good in the end, if you are a beginner try to get some experience first before doing your own designs."

so i went to artastion but i cant really find any concept that suits my taste, i love league's skin universe "Omen of the dark", it fits perfecly in my tastes, the character designs are dark/evil but they are actually really "stylish" like an JRPG villain, these designs dont give that macabre vibe like Dark souls or bloodborne. i dont know if i can change the "style" of a concept, like taking an anime/semi realistic character to an more comic/realistic style.

Replies

• pior
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter

Hello,

I believe English isn't your native language (and it isn't mine either anyways) ; and from there, you are probably being confused by the meaning of "can".

• You *can* do whatever you want : you can ask anything to anyone, no one is going to knock on your door and tell you you can't do this or that.