Homeβ€Ί 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4] A Normal Night in a Normal Hospital

Hello Everyone! Here's my latest environment project. This scene took me about 3 weeks to finish from start. I created all the assets for the scene.

I wanted to create a horror scene focused on background storytelling.

However I had no specific concept to begin with. So I used Midjourney and Dall-E AI Modules to gather some ideas for the concept. And the rest was just me trying different things.

Used softwares - Unreal Engine 4, Blender, Substance Suite & Photoshop

Artstation Post - https://www.artstation.com/artwork/039OQE

Reference Board

Thank you for reading the post!

I'm a beginner artist doing self studies on environment art. So it'll be huge for me, if you can give honest feedback on what to improve, What have I done wrong and What Should I focus more on next projects <3

Replies

• Fabi_G
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fabi_G insane polycounter

Hi πŸ™‚ Some critique on the scene:

I think the area around the wheelchair is lit up too much, works against shadows and makes this area look a bit flat. The humanoid shadow on the wall is too stiff. Maybe some subtle atmospheric effects could enhance scene depth.

I believe with a room this simple, subtle details are relevant. I would look up references how walls, ceiling and floor connect. E.g. some small shadow gap between hanged ceiling and the walls, some of the ceiling panels could be displaced or offset (maybe exposing the structure above, likely cables running there). Skirting along Wall/Floor transition. Dust and dirt built up in corners, floor material more worn towards center where people constantly walk.

Balloons look a bit to solid, some transparency or light transmission would help communicate the material.