Home General Discussion

Dream Fusion 3D models. Is the end close for 3D artists?

CyberdemoN_1542
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
CyberdemoN_1542 polycounter lvl 5

So almost every week, without even looking for it, I see advancements of AI in my feed. It feels like it's getting exponentially better and that the people working on it are drinking coffee nonstop to get this out...

I saw this in my feed yesterday and it seems the end is neared than I thought. Sure, it looks pretty crap so far, but it was the same with 2D art. It feels like in one maybe two years you will be able to make a whole environment that would take months for a team of artists to make in just an hour or so

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uM5NPodZZ1U

I am a 3D artist, started this journey almost 5 years ago from nothing, with no artistic background and been doing this professionally for two years. This job gives me my confidence and it would be devastating to me if I got replaced by an unfeeling machine. I can do some concepting and have made some pretty unique hard surface stuff for my client but most of the stuff that I make is made after concept art or an image, exactly the kind of stuff AI can replicate.

Let's say you are making a WW2 game. Why pay an artist to model an STG 44 if you can just tell the AI to model it for you in two seconds? Oh, you are making fictional, highly realistic WW2 weapons? Just feed the AI images of WW2 weapons and tell it to make something similar. Making a sci fi game? Why pay an artist if you can just feed the AI examples of sci fi guns that you like and it will just spit out an excellent result in no time?