Home Career & Education

What are the mandatory skills to be an environment artist?

Hi, I'm a student and I really interested in environment art and level design. I want to know the mandatory skills to be an environmental artist. Should I learn 3D modeling and sculpting? I have no experience with 3d modeling and sculpting. I made some scenes using unity. But I got the assets and props needed to make these scenes from the assets store.

I have a passion for making worlds and environments. but I'm not very interested in learning 3d modeling and sculpting. So what are the mandatory skills to be an environment artist? should I learn modeling and sculpting? or should I switch to level design?  Sorry, I really need some guidance.

Replies

• chien
    Offline / Send Message
    chien polycounter lvl 13

@janiya one of the common advice to this is study and observation, and have art foundation

• Benjammin
    Offline / Send Message
    Benjammin polycounter lvl 6

An environment artist is typically responsible for making the assets that go into a scene/level, so 3D modelling is pretty mandatory for making 3D assets, yeah. 😁

Level design is more about designing those spaces for gameplay, not necessarily building them. The role in which you build levels/environments from those assets is called something like 'world artist'.

• Ramseus
    Offline / Send Message
    Ramseus polycounter lvl 12

Environment artist is almost always someone who is expected to produce assets, especially at the junior level. You often have to work your way up from small props. To be honest part of the reason I chose to go into environment art is just that there are more environment artists than anything else.