Home Career & Education

[Education] Resources for learning 3D environment art?

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
coolguyslims polycounter lvl 2

Hello,

I've been studying 3D art for a couple years now while working a full-time job. I know how to use Maya, ZBrush, Substance Painter, RizomUV, Photoshop, and Marmoset Toolbag 3. I just turned 23 and am living in the US. My goal is to find a job as a 3D Environment or Prop Artist in the video game industry.

I almost exclusively have created hard surface weapons for video games, my portfolio consisting of two such projects so far (actually, one isn't finished yet but will be before I move). At the beginning of my studies, I just created what was most fun, which is how I ended up creating weapons. Creating whole environments was my goal, but it seemed too complicated, so I decided to start small. Where I am now I feel confident in my ability to create hard-surface props and weapons for video games, so once I finish my current project I'm determined to learn how to create environments with Unreal Engine.

Some of my work.

I'm happy with the work that I've done, but I feel studying while working is just taking too long and inhibiting my abilities. I'm currently living with my Dad and he is moving out, so I'm taking this opportunity to move in with my Mom out of state to study full-time for about six months. My Mom is fully supportive and willing to let me stay rent-free while I create a portfolio that will land me a job. I love doing the work and learning new software, so I'm determined to use my time as best as I can within the bounds of not burning out. More precisely, my goal for this period is to learn how to sculpt with ZBrush to create organic environment assets, learn Unreal Engine, learn how to use SpeedTree, and learn how to create materials using Substance Designer.

I was also inspired by this article, Road to Rebellion by Kieran Goodson: