Home› Career & Education

Career Path from a 3rd world country

Hello. I've I'm a self-taught 3d game environment and props artist and I would consider myself still learning but in two years or so I would want to start Searching for jobs. Unfortunately, I can't leave my country any time soon nor would I want to. I understand that remote work is difficult to find as a junior 3d artist so what other alternatives are there? Freelancing? Outsourcing Studios? Please any in-depth advice will be appreciated, I don't want to waste years of my life doing the wrong things or chasing a pipedream

Replies

• Neox
    Offline / Send Message
    Neox veteran polycounter

i guess for anyone to be able to help you anyhow, more information is needed. because which country it is, might actually play a huge role in your options.

• Chuk1000

The country wouldn't really matter because I'm studying to be a games environment artist and those types of games aren't really made here. Its mostly 3d Mobile stuff.

• Neox
    Offline / Send Message
    Neox veteran polycounter

of course the country matters, say you live in north korea (technically second world), your options are way different than living in india. just an example, but there are implications based on where you are located and here might be people coming from your country with first hand experience.

• Chuk1000

I see your point. The industry doesn't exist where I'm from. So, what are my best options

• Neox
    Offline / Send Message
    Neox veteran polycounter

The country i came from doesn't exist anymore, it never had a games industry. What are my best options?

your options vary based on where you are. i wouldn't be able to help you when you come from... say pakistan

but someone else here might, but if you don't want to give that information it will be hard to give you specific input

that being said, no matter where you are from. portfolio is king, show people what you can do and work will find you.

• carvuliero