Home Career & Education

Being concept artist and working online only?

Offline / Send Message
Pinned

Hi guys! I would love to hear your advice on what should I choose as a career. A bit of my background first may be useful

I work as a drawing teacher in Poland, and I mainly teach architecture drawing (perspective, geometry, still art as well). So I guess I'm an expert on that, I have 12 years of experience. My educational background is that I'm an architect. But I also have experience drawing and painting people, I also teach human anatomy at our school.

I worked at a few concept art projects in the movie industry - Dr Dolittle, The Great (doing interior design), The Last Duel (doing costume design), I've also made illustrations for game's story teaser, which were animated by someone else. So I have little experience, but these were only side jobs. And now I wish to become full time artist and make teaching my side job.

So what is what I'm concerned about? I live in a medium size city in Poland where there is no gaming or movie industry. And I cannot move to other city - I have just finished building a house and will soon be a mother.

So I need to choose an art career that I will be able to maintain online. I would love to work as a concept artist, that's what I love the most. And I am working on a concept art portfolio. But can I be a concept artist and work online? I know how important it is to have a good contact with a team. Can I also work part time as a concept artist? I guess it would be the best start for me - have little projects to work on, build practical experience, then slowly move to maybe full time concept art job (when my baby grows a bit)