Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Concept art portfolio piece, Critique highly appreciated

Offline / Send Message
Pinned

Hello! I'm currently working on a character concept art potfolio. This is one of the pieces. I would love to have a feedback on this design while I work on it, so I could learn more. What I'm interested in is are these concepts good and is my approach good. I'm a layman and I might have a wrong look on these things.

So here I have 12 thumbnails, some prosthesis and sci fi legs studies on one sheet. On the other there are variations of 6 thumbnails, where I was searching for vibe and style.

What I plan to do next is choose 1 or 2 of them and focus on them, and make new variations but within one, chosen aesthetic. I think I will choose version 3 and 6 as a basis and will play around their proportions, vibe and details.

Then I will choose one as my final design and make proper sheet with front and back view, some details. Maybe Callout sheet would be useful as well?

I want this project to be the best concept art piece for a portfolio it could be. So your insight and advice would be highly appreciated!

And maybe some words about this character - it's loosely based on a describtion of a tech assassin from the book Mechanicum (based in Warhammer 40k world) by Graham McNeill. She' s a woman of a perfect body, with legs that are too long and have too many joints. She wears mask resembling smilling skull with a horn on the chin. She floats over the ground. That's what I focus on. I don't want her to be precisely Warhammer 40k vibe, that's why some of the designs are far away from this world's aesthetic.

Replies

• carvuliero
    Offline / Send Message
    carvuliero hero character

Your silhouettes looks very tame and similar , there is a lot of room to play around with different shapes and relation and push them to a point where they start to fall apart there you will find your portfolio piece