Home Technical Talk

Help find the right program for a Newbie

Hello everyone, I'm a concept artist and I'm quite new to 3D world.

I need a program to sculpt and model assets. I felt in love with the workflow of 3dCoat, is so intuite to add and substract solids instead of using vertices and so on. I strongly prefer voxel based tools, unfortunately 3d Coat runs extremely slow on my pc (1 tb ssd nvme, ryzen 2600, 32gb ram, 3060ti). It freeze and crashes for no reason apparently.

Can you help me find a good substitute? Or to optimize it maybe ?

Maybe Vr sculpting ?

I already tried Blender with Kitops/Fluent but found it overcomplicated.

Any help? Thanks a lot !

Replies

• Alex_J
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter

I thought zbrush was the gold standard for that sort of work?

Free, light version here you might try:

ZBrushCoreMini :: 3D For All ZBrushCoreMini :: Free Your Creativity

• killnpc
    Offline / Send Message
    killnpc polycounter

as far as i'm aware, 3d Coat is your best bet for high density voxel sculpting, i haven't used it but from what i've seen it's on the frontier here. even though you're setup with a decent rig, you'll likely have to dig into optimizing program settings and work around or all out avoid intensive operations at high counts until its improved. i think there may be an opportunity for the software to shine ahead of ZBrush depending on how it is managed after the recent acquisition by Maxon although its creator Ofer Alon is still part of the team. ZBrush is still extremely powerful and utilizes very nice Boolean processes, but as far as i know only outputs to the standard polygon pipeline used for the overwhelming majority of game engines.

• Roash

I got your point: avoid heavy operations on 3d coat an try to optimize it (sadly has nearly 0 options to optimize performance).

Do you think Zbrush is a valid alternative? It worth learning it?

what are your thoughts about Vr sculpting?

• pior