Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Fantasy Knife Critique

Hi guys. I'm newer to 3D, and I was hoping to get some feedback on the latest piece I created.

I am a bit confused as to why my work did not get ANY likes at all. Is my work just not good enough? That's why I'd like some feedback. I have a background in 2D illustration and fine art, so you can use that lingo as well and I will understand what you mean. Be as real as you can be. I don't really have much of an ego when it comes to 3D, so I hope to get feedback on the good and the bad. Right now, I am thinking that it must be all bad.

So for my goals, I would like to be employed as a 3D Prop artist. Specifically, weapons and other tools, if a specialty is necessary. As I am not in a 3D program but am self-taught, I was hoping to have a community of people to interact with and give me a true perspective of how good, or bad my work truly is.

my knife model: https://www.artstation.com/artwork/nELmz1

I am new to Polycount, and this is my first post. I think it is in the right section...

Replies

• rexo12
    Offline / Send Message
    rexo12 interpolator

First off, Welcome to Polycount! Pleasure to have you (sailor).

This is a very cool concept, and I think you've managed to execute it really well. Great work!

My main critique is that I think your presentation needs work. The fireflies and speckles present in your renders detract significantly from the piece. Renders have inconsistent resolutions and aspect ratios, there are banding artifacts in the backgrounds (although i'm not sure if this is caused by Artstation compression), and the wireframe shot has half-cropped GUI elements in frame, making it all look a bit amateur unfortunately. For future reference, you can render the viewport preview directly in Blender with the View->Viewport Render Image option.

Your lighting also lacks dynamism which results in a flat and boring tone for the images.